A Check in the Box

Yes.  It’s been a while since I last wrote, and for that I am truly sorry.  There are a zillion reasons as to why that is the case, but it’s enough to say that the writing thing just hasn’t happened.  Until today.  (Whoo-hoo?)

At the beginning of this year, I posted my non-resolutions for 2014.  My brain loves checklists…not so much the list part of it, but being able to put a check in a box and say, “Boom! All done!”  This weekend, I was able to put a big, fat check into a few boxes…and I feel that it totally merits an update post.  Which, if you were unclear at all, this is.

  1. Non-resolution 1: Get an A in my ARTS 351 class.  Check!  After much blood, sweat and tears, this was a check.  Seriously.  This was supposed to be my “fun” class.  It was probably one of the two least enjoyable classes I’ve ever taken in my life, missing the absolute bottom by the virtue of it not being a Java programming class.  I learned a lot, and really developed my portraiture technique a lot.  People are not my strong point, and I’m feeling much more confident in that department after this class.  There was some good work that came out of it, but between technical issues on Blackboard, and a whole lot of professor issues, it was just not much fun at all.  Oh, well.  It’s over.  Thank goodness.
    An expressive painting of Baby. Copyright 2014.  Images may not be used without written  permission from the artist.  All rights reserved.

    An expressive painting of Baby. Copyright 2014. Images may not be used without written permission from the artist. All rights reserved.

    My final undergraduate project...ever: an expressive painting of my sweet Toddler.

    My final undergraduate project…ever: an expressive painting of my sweet Toddler. Copyright 2014. Images may not be used without written permission from the artist. All rights reserved.

  2. Non-resolution 2: Graduate Magna Cum Laude on 10 May 2014.  Done and done.  Whoo-hoo!  Being an online student, I’ve never actually been to campus until this past weekend.  Although it was a stressful and crazy busy weekend, I am so happy that I actually got to participate in Commencement and got to walk across the stage to get handed my fake diploma.  My real one came in the mail on 05 April 2014…the same day I got my cap, gown and hood.   But, being finished really didn’t feel real until Friday, when I got to my school and received my reader card and my honors/veteran/senior project cords.  And the most real moment of all was when I walked into the stadium.
    Walking into the stadium for Commencement.

    Walking into the stadium for Commencement.

    All decked in my graduation regalia.

    All decked out in my graduation regalia.

    My cute little family and best friend in the stands.

    My cute little family and best friend in the stands.

    Holy potatoes.  That was, in the words of Anne of Green Gables, an epoch moment in my life.  And then I found my husband, kiddies and best friend in the stand, which made it even better.  (My parents, grandmother, best friend’s parents, three brothers, one sister, one brother-in-law, and my baby nephew were on the grass at the back of the stadium, but I didn’t know that till later.)  It totally validated the nearly fourteen years work it took to complete the degree and made me start itching to start my Master’s degree right away.  Which isn’t going to happen because…

  3. Surprise: We have a new baby coming late September/early October.  At this point, I have no idea who’s cooking away in there, but hopefully, we’ll find out tomorrow.   With three boys in the family already, what do you think the odds are of this one being a girl?  Make your pick!  Results of the poll and the ultrasound will be out tomorrow.  (Eek!!)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

