A Little Sunshine, Part 1

When I get an e-mail from WordPress saying that I got a comment on a blog post, it usually turns out to be spam…which is totally cool, because I (a) don’t aggressively market my blog and (b) I have hitherto primarily used it for catharsis and cyber-accountability.  Bearing that in mind, I was quite surprised (and touched) when I discovered that Kim at Craft-Create-Connect nominated me for a Sunshine Award.

Sunshine Award

I’m still pretty new to the blogosphere and therefore had no idea that such a thing existed, but her acknowledgement brought a little bit of sunshine and encouragement into my life when I was feeling rather blue.  (I have 2 sick babies with 4 infected ears between the two of them.  Being Momma, I have been contaminated myself, and right now, the sound of my voice is alternating between post-Ursula Ariel and an adolescent gosling who was just hit by a bus.)  Thank you, Kim!

Apparently, this particular award has a few rules.  Boom.

Rules:

  1. Share 11 facts about yourself.
  2. Answer the 11 questions that were asked by the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Include 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  4. Notify your nominees about this post.

In the words of the immortal Ace Ventura, Pet Detective, “Alllll-righty, then.”

  1. I would absolutely love to be a Mythbuster.  It is the perfect blend of art, science, electronics, and explosives…and I do love me the smell of gunpowder in the morning.  Or any time of day, for that matter.  Plus, I think Kari needs a friend.
  2. I cannot make pancakes or grilled cheese sandwiches without setting off the smoke detector.
  3. If I were a crayon, I would want to be peacock blue.
  4. I still love Nancy Drew and occasionally stay up too late reading her stories.
  5. I have never had a cavity, but I had 6 wisdom teeth that were taken out 1 at a time.
  6. I need the sun.  As soon as it gets dark outside, my brain powers off.  On dark and cloudy days, it never fully boots.  When I was stationed out in the Pacific Northwest, I was never fully alert.
  7. If I were trying to be the Next Food Network Star, I would want to be mentored by Alton Brown.  I never understood cooking or baking until I started watching him and learned “why” it all works.
  8. I don’t like chocolate ice cream.
  9. I can’t draw with charcoals without looking like I’ve been playing in a fireplace.
  10. If I were a scent, I would want to be a citrus.
  11. Sunflowers are my favorite flower.

And now…Kim’s questions.

  1. Let’s start with something important…white, milk or dark chocolate?  Dark.  Really dark.  Like 80% dark.
  2. Coffee or tea (or something totally different)?  Tea!  I’m not usually allowed to drink coffee without adult supervision…I kind of turn into Dr. Krunklehorn from Disney’s Meet the Robinsons.
  3. Where do you find your inspiration?  Life.  I haven’t really narrowed my blog’s focus yet, so I tend to write about whatever is currently going on in my life.  Like gestational diabetes, sewing projects and kitchen experiments.
  4. Monday mornings… love them or loathe them?  Love them!
  5. What is it that keeps you blogging?  As I said earlier, writing is cathartic.  Also, I can’t lose a blog.  I tend to lose my diaries.
  6. Curl up on the couch or night on the town?  Curl up on the couch.  Preferably, with a book.
  7. Who would you say is your hero?  Winston Churchill.
  8. Best film of all time?  Oh, dear.  I’m going to go with Mary Poppins.  Do I seriously have to narrow it down to just one?
  9. How would you describe yourself in 10 words or less?  If it’s worth doing, it’s worth overdoing.
  10. Do you have a job not associated with your blog?  If so, what is it?  I am a stay-at-home homeschooling wife and mother.  I am also a part-time student, a piano teacher, and I occasionally paint on commission.
  11. Where else can we find and follow you?  You can find me on Pinterest and on Twitter!  (Side note: I don’t really tweet much but my blog posts, but I’m there.)

Because I am a morning glory and am still sick, and therefore need to get some sleep, I am going to stop here for now.  I will pick up with my own nominees and questions for said nominees in my next post.

To be continued…

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

