Making a Baby for Baby, Part 2

Well, dang.  I started this post on 22 April, and it has remained a draft.  Lonely…unfinished…forgotten.  When we last met, I was pretty sure I had gotten an A in my class and I was waiting for New Baby to arrive.  Now, 8-ish months later, I can confirm that I did get an A.  Happily, New Baby also arrived a little ahead of schedule via induction.  (It’s a long story…I’ll tell you some day.)

I promised to share the pictures of the Little Brother doll I made my erstwhile Baby to prepare him for his transition to Middle Brother.  I am happy to say that I think it worked…Baby (henceforth to be referred to as Toddler) and New Baby are best buddies, and I couldn’t be happier!

Without further ado, allow me to present to you the Little Brother Doll (brought to you by insomnia and by Simplicity Pattern 2809).

A Face in Progress

A face in progress.  P.S.  My hubby was totally creeped out by this process…

Finished Face

Dolly’s finished face.

A flat little dolly body...complete with ears and a belly button.

A flat little dolly body…complete with ears and a belly button.

Back of dolly's crocheted wig.

Back of dolly’s crocheted wig.

And the Little Brother Doll has hair!

And the Little Brother Doll has hair!

Sadly, when I went to the hospital to have my real New Baby, the doll was left at home sans clothes, which my mother finished in time to present Toddler at the hospital when he met his real little buddy.  I really thought I had pictures of him with his clothes on (the doll, not my babies).  Apparently, that is not the case.  I will remedy that situation at some point in the (let’s face it…probably distant) future.

I need to find the clothes first.  Toddler figured out how to work snaps.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafty

Leave a Reply

