Sweet Dreams are Made of…Bread

I need carbs.  There.  I said it.

There was a brief moment in time about eight hundred years ago where, for some misbegotten reason, I agreed to do Atkins with a friend to help keep her motivated.  For two weeks of my life, I couldn’t think.  I became a mental zombie.  When you rely on your brain as much as I do, this is a huge problem.  These days, I try to keep my carb intake higher on the complex side and pretty low on the simple side.  (What can I say?  Christmas cookies happen…)  Voilà!  My body and my brain are both happy.

Fast-forward eight hundred years.

I may have mentioned once or twice (or twenty) times that I have gestational diabetes again with New Baby.  I may have also mentioned that I’m taking one of my last upper level classes.  These two things don’t mix so well.  My carb intake is so low that it may as well be nonexistent.  My brain is back in zombie mode.  In the past month, my fruit intake has consisted of one banana and half of an apple because of the alarmingly impressive heights my blood sugar levels reach after I ate them.  I miss fruit.  I miss bread.  And carrots.  And milk.  And my brain.

I’m writing an average of two big papers a week.  Normally, this isn’t a problem.  I may be introverted, but I have never had an issue expressing myself through pencil and paper.  (Well…Microsoft Word and my keyboard.)  However, this non-carb thing is throwing off my groove.  What should be a simple task of knocking these papers out…especially since I’m not exactly a newbie to the overall topics under discussion…is proving to be excruciatingly difficult.

Today’s writing session went something like this:

  1. Sit at desk.
  2. Scribble outline of thoughts.
  3. Erase the random “muffin” that appeared under the heading “OSI Model.”
  4. Can’t remember catchy acronym for the seven layers learned in C school, so look it up.
  5. Apparently, it’s “Please Do Not Throw Sausage Pizza Away.”
  6. Mmmmm…pizza.  Six more weeks until I can have pizza.
  7. And cake.  Because Donkey reminded Shrek that cakes have layers, too…not just the OSI model.
  8. Look!  Shiny!!
  9. Rinse and repeat.

I’m at the halfway mark for this class already.  So far, I have an A.  Here’s hoping that I can keep it that way.  And here’s hoping that the dancing PB&J sandwiches have the decency to stay out of my dreams tonight ’cause that was just plain mean.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random, Tasty

Leave a Reply

