Sugar Gremlins

I had gestational diabetes (henceforth to be referred to as GD) when I was pregnant with Baby.  Unhappily, it wasn’t the kind of GD that was easily controllable with the modified diet.  We had to add in glyburide which helped, but not to the levels that I needed…so then came the insulin shots.  I’m a big sissy when it comes to needles, so my much-enduring husband gave me my shots every night.  (He’s so sweet…I love him so much.  Sorry…I appear to have gotten mush all over this post.)

Even with all of this intervention to try to make my body use insulin, there were days where, for no explicable reason, my blood sugars would go haywire.

I had one of those days yesterday.  Seriously, I ate exactly the same thing that I’ve eaten for three days in a row, and my numbers were all over the place.  I had one good reading out of four.  This is incredibly frustrating to me for several reasons.

  1. I really take the diet seriously.  I don’t cheat.  I may sigh for orange juice and dream about chocolate chip cookies, but that is as far as it goes.
  2. I use the heck out of my little food scale and various measuring devices to be absolutely certain that I’m only getting exactly what my list of “allowed” gives me.  This adds several minutes of prep time to each meal.  Plus, I have to work in three snacks that I don’t have normally into my routine.  Time there has to come from somewhere else.
  3. I hate having to revolve my life around food.
  4. I really like being pregnant, but stressing about blood sugar takes some of the fun of it away.  I think it’s that whole “high risk” label I have slapped on my forehead now.
  5. I am a very goal and results-oriented person.  When I do something, I need to know that it’s actually working.  True story: when I was in labor with Baby and got to the pushing phase, apparently I asked the doctor if it was working.  I have no recollection of this.  (And, no, I was not under the influence of any medication.  The doctor told me that she hoped I hadn’t been planning on an epidural, which I hadn’t been, because there was no anesthesiologist on-site at the moment.  Made that resolution easy to keep…)  My husband thought it was funny.  So when I have these days where my numbers are all bouncy, I feel like a failure.
  6. There is absolutely nothing I can do to prevent GD.   I’m all about Operational Risk Management (ORM…it’s a Navy thing and old habits die hard).  This means that if I am planning an evolution of whatever kind, I try to foresee every possible risk and mitigate it if at all possible.  ORM fails me here, but it works spectacularly for skiing.  I just don’t go.  Attaching myself to two sticks and hurling myself down a slope given my propensity for gravity-related disasters is just not a good idea.

Hopefully, the sugar gremlins took their labors of mayhem elsewhere last night and will leave me and my numbers alone today.  If not, there’s always tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

