Flexing My Brain

My first day back to school was today.  It’s been nearly two years since I took a class.  I tried taking one last winter, but during the first week, my baby came down with a rotten case of RSV.  Between that, work, life…and coming down with pneumonia and two ear infections, school got cut from my list of things to do.  The rest of the year was spent transitioning to the homeschool mom thing.

I couldn’t remember my student ID number this morning.  I also couldn’t remember how to properly format the heading for my paper.  Thank goodness for e-mail archives.

Thankfully, I have an awesome professor for this class.  I e-mailed him this weekend and let him know that finals and D-Day for New Baby might become a conflict.  He apparently has seven kids of his own and is willing to get me through this class no matter what.  I love teachers like that…

Also thankfully, the course topic itself is something that I have a lot (a lot a lot a lot a lot) of experience in…both book and practical.  It’s going to make writing my essays and discussion board posts…not to mention my binary conversions and exams…much easier than, say, advanced Java programming.

Which is a class looming on my horizon.  I am not awesome at object-oriented programming.  My brain is not configured that way.  When I took my intermediate programming class, I cried over my homework every day.  I thought I failed after finals. I got an A for the class.  I can’t for the life of me tell you how that happened.  I have procrastinated on taking that final programming class…but, my happy days of avoidance will be gone shortly, to be replaced with much weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Lovely picture, ain’t it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

