An Unplanned Sabbatical

I’m back.  Ish.  Not that I ever planned to be gone exactly.  I even had a new post open…planned…titled…mostly unwritten.  However, as so often does, life happened.  A lot.  And apparently, May is mostly gone before I really knew that it had started.

This is exciting because that means that this first (albeit partial) year of homeschooling is nearly done!  My oldest has had a lot of adjustments to make this year…two public schools and then switching to homeschooling, plus getting used to having a new baby brother in the house after being an only child for so many years.  He has done amazingly well and I can’t be more proud of what he has achieved this year.  We’re both excited about starting the next grade together.  (Yay!)  This week, we learned the layers of the earth (hello, bedrock, subsoil and topsoil) using chocolate pudding and Oreo cookies.  Have I mentioned how awesome it is to be a homeschooler again?  We also completed our required end-of-year competency and progress testing and are impatiently awaiting the results.

It is also terrifying because that means that Camp NaNoWriMo is open on Friday, which means that my first summer attempt to write a Great American Novel is nearly upon me.  (Eek!)  Happily, I’ve actually got a pretty good idea of how my story is supposed to go.  (Yay!)  Even more happily, I’m going to “camp” with my bestie and we get to share a virtual cabin.  (Double yay!)  Did I mention that the goal is to write 50, 000 words in 30 days?    Bring it on…

In other news, my baby has his first tooth, can laugh like Donald Duck and is a huge fan of oatmeal with bananas.  Also, as mentioned in a previous post, if you want your bagels to turn out really well, eggs need to be an ingredient.  After 5 consistently awesome batches, I’m convinced.  But, more on that…and more…later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random, Tasty

Leave a Reply

