Going Bananas Redux

I always seem to end up with a couple of bananas that are too ripe to eat.  Last time, on Adventures in Banana Land, our heroine decided to add chocolate chips to her banana bread, and it was hailed throughout the land as being the acme of all banana breads.

However, I am completely out of yogurt and chocolate chips, so it was back to the drawing board for an unusual use of the ripeness at hand.  I thought about trying to make cookies with them, but opted against them because I just didn’t feel like spending that much time on the project.  I thought about making peanut butter and banana sandwiches, but they were just too ripe for me to go there.  The next logical step in my thought progression was peanut butter and banana bread, so I tweaked my normal recipe a little bit.

I was a little worried when I mixed it all up.  The batter seemed awfully thick and I was pretty sure it would just sit there and turn into a peanut butter and banana brick, but it rose a little bit.  The kitchen smells fantastic and I really need dinnertime to hurry up and get here so we can try it.

I’m pretty sure that Elvis would approve.

Update:

Elvis would definitely have approved.  More importantly, so did the non-baby solids-eating members of my family.  I might need to tweak the liquids in the recipe a little bit more the next time I make it, but it was a success.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tasty

Leave a Reply

