Failure

The inimitable Thomas Edison wrote (regarding his quest to invent the light bulb), “I have not failed.  I’ve just found 10, 000 ways that won’t work.”  Keeping that in mind, I did not fail to write my blog post yesterday.  I simply found 11 things to do that did not lead to a completed blog post.

The cream of ogre soup and freshly baked bread made for a fabulous family dinner.  (Note: no ogres were actually harmed in the making of this dinner.  It’s just that split peas are so suggestive of ogre essence.  Plus, it’s so much more fun to tell husband and kid that we’re having ogres for dinner.)

I finished all of the laundry before more was made.

I was able to finish inputting my oldest kid’s grades into the new database program I found so that I can generate his report card on Friday (to close out the first term since we started homeschooling…which is a pretty big deal).  The program is awesome.  Finding it 8 weeks ago would have been more awesome, but I digress.

My baby and I had some more crawling lessons.  ( I know how, but he doesn’t.)  He has managed the launch position about 6 times on his own now, and rolling around on the carpet while the dogs try to figure out what’s going on is always a good time.

My oldest learned how to use a simple balance.  Together, we discovered that a nickel weighs 5 grams and that 12 nickels weigh 60 (science plus math equals awesome), a box of 24 crayons weighs 133 grams and my husband’s watch weighs 158 grams.

My husband and I even got to watch half of “Braveheart” together before giving in to exhaustion.

It was a very successful day, even though my “new post” browser window remained blank.  To paraphrase the Mythbusters, failure of this sort is always an option.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

