Obligatory

It is nearly time for bed, and instead of winding down on the couch with a warm dog at my feet (and a Chopped marathon on Food Network), I’m sitting here staring at the wall and am trying to write a post.  Why?  Because I vowed that I would write one every day regardless of whether I feel like it or not…because this whole blog evolution is about developing a writing habit.  I’ve definitely been leaning towards the “not” side today because of the sleep I didn’t get last night.  (My poor baby was experiencing major teething discomfort or had a tummy ache or was too tired to sleep…quite possibly all three.)  I have been searching my soul for a topic to write about, and came up with absolutely nothing except a strange combination of static, oatmeal and zombies, which just sounded like a disaster in the making.  If that wasn’t bad enough, I’ve had “The Safety Dance” stuck in my head all day.  I really can’t tell you why.  It’s just there.  And now it’s stuck in your head, too.  I’m opening up and sharing my inner soundtrack with you because my mommy always told me that sharing is “important.”  See?  We’re bonding over baby-induced insomnia and Canadian ’90’s music.

Now that I’ve started this post, I realize I could have written about the awesome quiche I made for dinner (homemade hash brown crust with ham, spinach and mushrooms à la Paula Deen, but without the butter) or I could have written about why I pretty much don’t like cats as I  briefly touched upon in yesterday’s post.  I also could have told you about that time I fell off of the stage at my piano recital.  However, I seem to have completed a mini post, which meets my self-imposed quota for the day and is in itself a small triumph.

À toute à l’heure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

