Writer’s Block

wri·ter’s block

noun \ˈrīt-ərz-\

Definition of WRITER’S BLOCK

: a psychological inhibition preventing a writer from proceeding with a piece of writing

I often find that I’ve come down with a bad case of Writer’s Block just when I’m sitting down trying to be brilliant.  Oftentimes, it’s accompanied by an equally severe case of Nosittustoolongus.  It’s not that I don’t have ideas…I have plenty of them.  It’s just that I cease to know what they are when confronted by a blank piece of paper.  Who am I kidding?  I don’t use paper.  So, when I’m confronted by a new Word document, my ideas run away (kind of like my veins do when they see needles).  Yet, at the same time, when I’m told that I have to write about something, my inner mule tends to assert itself.  I’ll do it, but I’ll be dragging my little hooves all the way despite the dangling carrot of whatever…a good grade, pride in completion, chocolate, etcetera and etcetera.

So…why did I start a blog?  Yes, it’s going to be painful.  Like ripping off a Band-Aid.  But, I seriously need to develop a writing habit for the following reasons:

  1. I really love to write.  Really.
  2. It’s therapeutic.  I need to have a way to get stuff off my chest that does not involve an eruption of Mount St. Twidget, and I don’t have combat boots to shine my emotions out on anymore.
  3. I am going to Camp NaNoWriMo this summer to try to write my first Great American Novel.  As such, this blog is going to serve as my training program.
  4. Practice makes permanent.  (Gotcha…you thought I was going to say “perfect,” didn’t you?)  As I write these posts, I am going to be searching for a style that sticks.
  5. It’s like a diary.  Only wide open for everybody to see, so there’s some accountability to the whole New Year’s “I’ll write in my diary every day” resolution that I make and break every year.
Potpourri is by definition a collection of various things that don’t necessarily go together, which is why you find cinnamon sticks hanging out with those weird juniper thingies, pine cones and green wood shavings in little brass bowls so often.  There is no main topic or theme for this blog.  But, I am hereby resolving that I am going to write (at least) one post every day.  There.  I wrote it down for everybody and the kitchen sink to see.  (Accountability…)  Some days it may be fiction.  Or nonfiction.  Perhaps poetry or a recipe or a bitter diatribe against gravity.  It’s kind of exciting…anything could happen depending on the weather and/or the phase of the moon.  Thank you, Dear Reader, for strapping on your seat belt and coming along with me for this little literary experiment.  I will do my utmost to make your time worthwhile!
P.S.  This post doesn’t count as my “one” for today, so stay tuned for the “official” literary pine cone forthcoming!
Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

